


Jun 4th 2009
Nov 28th 2008
Sep 23rd 2008
Aug 28th 2008
Recently several of our clients have received emails similar to the one below...
*Subject:* Domain name & Internet keyword Registration
Aug 05, 2008
Domains name
Dear Sir/Madam,
We are Beijing Anwins Network Service Co., Ltd which is the domain name register center in China. We received a formal application from a company who is applying to register “[DOMAIN NAME]” as their domain name and Internet keyword on Aug 04, 2008. Since after our investigation we found that this word has been in use by your company, and this may involve your company name or trade mark, so we inform you in no time. If you consider these domain names and internet keyword are important to you and it is necessary to protect them by registering them first, contact us soon. Thanks for your co-operation and support.
Kind Regards,
Kim Yang
Beijing Anwins Network Service Co.,Ltd
Website: www.anwins.com
This email is a scam!
Basically the Chinese domain name registrar is claiming that someone is trying to register the Chinese version of your domain name (mydomain.com.cn for instance as opposed to mydomain.com.au) in the hopes that you'll be scared into paying their (usually exorbitant) fees to register it first.
This is not anything you need to worry about. The worst case scenario for not paying for the domain name is that someone (more than likely the the domain registrar themselves) will register the domain and set up a holder page on it. This is extremely unlikely to affect your business or search engine rankings at all. Simply ignore the email and delete it.
If you have any further questions regarding this, or any other domain name registration issues, please feel free to contact us.
Aug 19th 2008